Chakra Guide for Starters: Everything You Need To Know About The 7 Chakras

What are Chakras?

In Indian traditions, it is believed that human life simultaneously exists in two parallel dimensions, one “physical body” and the “subtle body”. This subtle body is energy, while the physical body is mass. The subtle body consists of energy channels connected by nodes of psychic energy called Chakra.

There are 7 major chakras to be arranged in a column along the spinal cord, from its base to the top of the head. The chakras are symbolically mapped to specific human physiological capacity, the defining characteristics, sounds, and colors. 

Let’s take a look at them below.

7 Major Chakras

1. Root Chakra

The  root chakra represents our foundation. On the human body, it sits at the base of the spine and gives us the feeling of being grounded. It governs what are considered the four primal urges: food, sleep, sex, and self-preservation. 

The  root chakra ’s energetic function is to help us maintain a sense of groundedness and inner stability. When the root chakra is open, we feel confident in our ability to
withstand challenges and stand on our own two feet. When it’s blocked, we feel threatened, as if we’re standing on unstable ground.

Location: Base of spine, perineum
Element: Earth
Color: Red

2. Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is in our abdominal area. It’s associated with the water element—fluidity, adaptability, creativity, emotions, sexual energy, and the unconscious. Sacral Chakra’s energetic function is to help us regulate our emotions and desires, so as not to be driven by them. 

When the sacral chakra is open, we are able to have a strong sense of integration and intimacy with people and the environment. Emotions can be freely expressed and flowed. Our love to others can be expressed through sex.

Location: About 2 inches below the navel
Element: Water
Color: Orange

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra is located at the navel center. It speaks to your ability to be confident and in control of your life. Energetically, the solar plexus chakra’s function is to optimize our personal power so that we can navigate our lives with strength and determination. 

This chakra gives us the confidence we need to process and eliminate what does not serve us, and to let it go. If your solar plexus chakra is blocked, you might feel overwhelming amounts of shame and self-doubt. Those with open sacral chakras are independent and confident, having flexibility and strong self-will.

Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area
Element: Fire
Color: Yellow

4. Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is located at the center of the chest. It associated with the air element, and with emotional qualities such as peace, love, and openness. Aside from the first three self-centered energy chakras, the heart chakra enables us to focus on consciousness. 

Human begins to relate themselves to other creatures in the universe, experience other people’s lives, and gradually cultivate feelings of empathy, compassion, care, and understanding for others. This is the energy of heart chakra. 

This chakra can influence our ability to give and receive love—from others and ourselves. Energetically, it helps us tap into unconditional love. Someone with a blocked heart chakra will have difficulty fully opening up to the people in their life. If someone’s heart chakra is open, they can experience deep compassion and empathy.

Location: Center of the chest
Element: Air
Color: Green

5. Throat Chakra

The throat chakra is located near the base of the throat. It gives voice to the heart chakra and controls our ability to communicate our personal power. Its energetic function is to help us find authentic self-expression. When it’s functioning at full capacity, it allows us to express ourselves truly and clearly.

Someone with a blocked throat chakra will feel like they have trouble finding the words to say how they truly feel.

Location: Throat
Element: Space
Color: Blue

6. Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra is located between the eyebrows. It is held to be the center of intuition, vision, prophecy, imagination, inner knowing, and self-assurance. The energetic function of this chakra is to help us learn to know ourselves: emotionally, mentally, and spiritually. With this chakra open, we can use spiritual power to communicate with our inner wisdom, and be aware of the divinity in ourselves and seeing the divinity in others.

Location: Forehead between the eyebrows
Element: Light
Color: Indigo Blue

7. Crown Chakra

The crown chakra, the highest chakra, sits at the crown of the head and represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. It serves as a way of connecting to divine energy and is associated with our highest self.

The crown chakra helps us function in a more enlightened way, cultivate self-mastery, and find a sense of connection with all. It enables us to connect with the high spirits, contact with high-level spiritual knowledge, including our own life purpose, life blueprint or spiritual journey, and reach the enlightenment realm.

Location: The very top of head
Element: Divine Consciousness
Color: Violet

To get access to complete 7 Chakra Guided Meditation Playlist here.

Chakra healing essential oils from doTerra by colour and crystals

Chakra and Essential Oils

It may be beneficial to meditate on the chakras for increased health of your energetic system and even intuit themes from them. We will talk more about how to open our chakras by using our imaginations and breath in the next few articles. We will assist you and your body’s energy system to function healthily and hope everyone can work toward wellness on all levels. Below, let’s quickly have a look at Chakra healing quick fix with Essential Oils routine:

Essential Oil Routine
Example: Mood Balancing
Begin with Breathe™. To connect yourself more deeply to your breathing, place a drop or two in your palms and bring them in a tent to your face. Close your eyes and focus on your breathing.
Use Peppermint to get going. Place a few drops at the top of the mat and create a circle. Peppermint works a lot like a mantra; it helps you to focus and has calming properties. It also is a great reminder to breathe.
Use Balance™ right before corpse pose. Place the oil on your feet to help you relax into the pose.
Essential Oil Blend: Elevation, Frankincense, Hawaiian Sandalwood, Myrrh 
Location: Top of head
Benefits: Bliss, transcendence
Essential Oil Blend: Serenity™, Melissa
Location: Brow
Benefits: Perception, intuition
Essential Oil Blend: Whisper™, Jasmine, Cypress
Location: Throat
Benefits: Communication, expression
Essential Oil Blend: Breathe™, Rose
Location: Center of heart
Benefits: Acceptance, compassion
Essential Oil Blend: DigestZen®, Patchouli, Lemon
Location: Solar Plexus
Benefits: Self-confidence, willpower
Essential Oil Blend:  Citrus Bliss®, ylang ylang
Location: Lower abdomen
Benefits: Creativity, healthy relationships
Essential Oil Blend: Balance™
Location: Coccyx, legs, feet
Benefits: Stability, ground emotions
7 chakra healing essential oils by DoTerra
DIY: Lavender Eye Pillow 
½ cup dried lavender flowers
¼ cup flax seed
5-7 drops Lavender essential oil
28” x 4” pieces of fabric
Sew the fabric together and leave one short side open for filling, then fill the center with lavender flowers and flax seed. Place the Lavender essential oil on the inside of the pillow as well. To finish, close the open side with a sewing machine or by hand stitching.

Leave a Reply